Bucking the Trend with Bucket Café

The Bucket Café, Perth CBD 

Note: Bucket Cafe has now been renamed as The Wolf, The Bean and The Walnut! They are still in the same place, so check it out :). 

Hidden away in an alleyway
Hidden away in an alleyway

Usually I am meticulous when it comes to dining out – I spend a good few moments searching for a great place to eat, especially when it comes to breakfast and lunch. I’m a big brunch person and this particular day, I was really keen to have a solo pit stop for food at some point during my shopping venture. The day was going to be busy. This time however, I went against expectations and decided I would just “wing it,” and find a random place to eat. Fingers crossed that it would go well!

It was A’s housewarming party looming, and I hadn’t bought her a present. Cue panic attack. Luckily, like many of my present hunting procedures, great rewards are reaped with intense social media stalking. I had finally decided I would purchase her something from the Country Road home ware section. I had a rough idea in my head of what I was going to get her – something practical, something neutral-coloured and something classy. Easy right? Wrong.

I could do with a table like that!
I could do with a table like that!

Country Road has an overwhelming number of practical/neutral coloured/classy/modern home ware, so finding something within my budget was going to be a particularly hard flog. Plus, I kept on getting distracted – why was everything here so beautiful? I was in glass/porcelain/premium oak timber heaven, and it was making my decision making process all the more harder. After several bouts of indecisiveness, I finally settled on a few items of cutlery, got it paid, gift wrapped and headed out into the cold morning, which, because I had now spent a good portion of my day in the store, was now afternoon.

Matcha Green Tea Latte
Matcha Green Tea Latte

I was burnt out and tired, and I needed somewhere to sit, relax, eat and self-congratulate myself. After getting lost in the myriad of alleyways, I finally found Bucket Café, tucked away at the end of Arcade 800. I started off with a matcha green tea latte. I’m a sucker for green tea, so I was really looking forward to getting my head stuck into it. However, I found it a little bit bitter – I gave it a dose of sugar, which gave it a nice kick. Despite its bitterness and almost grainy quality, the milk was steamed exceptionally well, smooth, even and to the right temperature. I might try the Chai Green Tea latte next time, which was advised by the staff to be a sweeter version of the straightforward matcha green tea latte.

Quiche
Chicken, Spinach & Cheese Quiche ($5.50)

I also needed something fuel-wise, so I had a chicken, spinach and cheese quiche ($5.50). I had it chucked into a take away container in case I needed to dash off, and whilst it didn’t look incredibly appetising, it was actually a thoroughly enjoyable lunchtime treat. The chunks of chicken was melded into a mixture of fluffy egg and cheese, the spinach nicely melted and housed in a short crust pastry. The circle of shattering pancetta was scrumptious, adding a salty sharpness that contrasted with the lovely caramelised apple. I couldn’t stop scoffing it down, and this was despite the fact that I was ravenous – it was very flavoursome for a humble quiche.

A peek of some of Perth's emerging artwork
A peek of some of Perth’s emerging artwork

I was pretty happy with Bucket Café – they by no means are inventive when it comes to food, but they do food simple and good. The service was friendly and fast, my quiche and green tea coming out quickly. I also got a creamy take away hot chocolate for the road, which was delightful as well.

Bucket Café succeeded in what I needed for the day – a quick pit stop for lunch and a place to grab a hot drink. I don’t know if I would come here specifically for brunch – they have a kitchen, but a lot of their “brunch-y” items are sandwiches, tarts, wraps, the run of the mill stuff (though this might have changed now that they have rebranded!). Despite this, I was pretty pleased with it! Another plus was the wooden tables that looked like they had been fashioned from the cross section of huge tree trunks – very awesome. For a random place I stumbled upon, I was pretty happy with it.

Rating: 7 out of 10.
★★★★★★★☆☆☆

Address: Shop 6, 800 Hay Street, Perth CBD 6000
Website: http://www.thebucketcafe.com.au

facebook_logo

The Bucket Cafe on Urbanspoon

Bites:

  • Open Monday to Friday from 7am to 3pm (breakfast menu served from 7am to 10am).
  • Catering available, for breakfast, lunch and morning tea!
  • No reservations required, walk in’s encouraged.

 -L.

Leave a Reply

