Sunshine & Soup at Blue Lotus Cafe

Blue Lotus Café, Stirling

As a kid, I would always go past Waldecks in Stirling, on the way to visiting my grandparents house. It was a landmark that would signify that I was approximately 2 minutes from entering their house, allowing me to gorge on my grandma’s famous fried rice and her pickled carrots, which were my favourite Asian dishes ever. The scary prospect before eating however, was that I also had to come face to face with their hyperactive Doberman, named Pepper.

Fountains at Waldecks!
Fountains at Waldecks!

Over the years I have come to associate Waldecks less with Pepper and her harrowing barks and more so with joy – Waldecks is the landmark now for the bestie’s house, as she lives a good 2 minute walk from Blue Lotus Café, housed inside the greenhouse. This particular sunny day, the bestie and I decided to have a bit of afternoon tea and go for a leisurely walk at the same time.

Flowers for sale!
Flowers for sale!

I didn’t expect much from Blue Lotus Café – I already had it in my mind it was a generic, run of your mill café which had out-sourced pies and canned drinks. I was in for a pleasant surprise, because it turned out to be a proper little eatery. It had a bright, vast open space inside and a gorgeous outdoor area that took full advantage of the greenery and flowers.

Brownie time!
Brownie time!
Chocolate Brownie ($4.50)
Chocolate Brownie ($4.50)

The day the bestie and I went there, we had gone in quite late (at about the 4pm mark) which was just in time for the place to close. Luckily, they were happy enough to give us some take away treats, including a rich chocolate brownie ($4.50) that had been baked in-house. The brownies were decadent and crunchy on the outside. I was in heaven – it was a bit rich for the bestie, however. We drowned it down with a bottled iced tea and Noah’s fruit juice smoothie.

Al fresco!
Al fresco!

A week later, the bestie and I were back, this time with our other friend and the bestie’s sister. It was a bon voyage celebration for my bestie’s sister, who was relocating to America for her studies. We settled for a bit of lunch. In contrast to the last time we visited, it was wild and windy with heavy patches of rain. It was also significantly more crowded in Blue Lotus Café this time around, predominately filled with the older population of Perth and mothers with their young children.

Hot chocolate ($4)
Hot chocolate ($4)

I had a hot chocolate ($4.00) and I was given the option of having it in a glass or a mug. I chose a mug, hoping that it would retain the heat sufficiently while we waited for our lunch. It had a slim layer of froth but it was nice and warm, which was good. I did a quick check to make sure I hadn’t smudged chocolate powder on my lips – nothing is more embarrassing than walking around a chocolate face.

Sweetcorn and zucchini fritters ($16.50)
Sweetcorn and zucchini fritters ($16.50)

The lunch menu had a good number of items, but I made a beeline for the sweetcorn and zucchini fritters ($16.50). Grated zucchini and creamed sweet corn speckled these moist pancake-like fritters. They were quite nice, though I felt they were a tad on the soggy side – it lacked the crisp pan fried edge that fritters are known for, and they fell apart a little too easy. It came served on a bed of salad made of rocket, red onion, red capsicum and cucumber. The best part of the salad was the tangy, chunky tomato salsa and the dollop of greek yoghurt, which slipped down the fritters like a waterfall.

Soup of the Day ($10.50)
Soup of the Day ($10.50)

My friend went for the Soup of the Day ($10.50) which came served with two of the biggest slices of ciabatta toast I have ever seen. The soup of the day was roasted cauliflower with cumin, and came as a green stew. We had a scoop each – it was heady and hot, infused with cauliflower, celery herbs and spices (I may have detected a smidgen of basil in there). It was a unique combination, that my bestie’s sister finished off when my friend couldn’t. There was a plentiful amount of the soup too – they had been exceptionally generous.

Pie of the Day ($17.50)
Pie of the Day ($17.50)

The bestie and her sister shared the Pie of the Day ($17.50), which was a peppered steak and pumpkin pie. There sure was pepper in it – I was metaphorically hit with a heat wave as I consumed it. The pie was delicious – chunky pieces of beef, that pulled apart easily, combined with the earthy, sweet portions of pumpkin. I loved the addition of the pumpkin inside the pie. The pastry was fantastic as well, a good shortcrust that had been baked to light gold. The pie came served alongside a bowl of salad and some chunky salsa. The salad had grains of pasta that resembled rice (formally known as Orzo pasta), sprouts, sundried tomato, rocket and roasted pumpkin. It was dressed in a slick olive oil and herbed vinaigrette.

Inside the cafe!
Inside the cafe!

Inside the café itself, it was buzzing with energy. The staff were engaging and pleasant, and the food and drinks come out at a rapid pace. The café has an almost boutique-y feel to it, with inspirational quotes scrawled across the wall. It was also very consumer friendly – condiments, cutlery and water hot spots were available for use, to your own free will.

Goldfish swimming about!
Goldfish swimming about!

Blue Lotus is a gorgeous place, perfect for families or a one on one catch up. There was a kids play area outside, which would be great to keep the kids entertained whilst carers are chatting away, or need to look for something outdoors-y. It was a sanctuary for the bestie, who has a bit of a green thumb. After we had finished the food, we had a browse through all the gardening areas, looking through a great number of trees, flowers, pottery and water features. She was hooked.

Tour of Waldecks!
Tour of Waldecks!

Overall, I had a good time at Blue Lotus Café – whilst I don’t think the food in particular blew me away, it had a lively atmosphere, good service and was a pleasant place to sit down for a snack, drink or coffee. The bestie and I sure will be back, as it is a great little location close to her house.

Rating: 7 out of 10.
★★★★★★★☆☆☆

Address: Waldecks Nursery, Corner Hamilton St & Karrinyup Rd, Stirling WA 6017
Website: http://www.waldecks.com.au/stores/os%20park.htm

Blue Lotus Cafe on Urbanspoon

Bites:

  • Open for breakfast and lunch (open 8:30am till 4pm)
  • Free Wifi available!
  • All items made in house and fresh for the customer.
  • Takes reservations via phone (contact 9254 6740).

– L.

2 thoughts on “Sunshine & Soup at Blue Lotus Cafe

Leave a Reply

