Three cheers to Toast

by Savour The Moment

Toast, East Perth

IMG_4379

The al fresco seating area outside of Toast

Toast is known to be one of Perth’s favourite brunch places for many years now and has been consistently good every time I visit. It is always packed for breakfast and takes advantage of the amazing view of Claisebrook Cove. Furthermore, it is one place in Perth that you can have all-day breakfast from 7am until 7pm. Finally!

IMG_4374

Toast’s front counter with lots of goodies to choose from

Toast’s vibe is rather laid-back, with retro style furniture inside and a huge blackboard on the wall to display their specials for the day. It is bright inside and features all sorts of colours to tickle your fancy. You can help yourself to your own water and menus, and order at the counter when you’re done deciding.

IMG_4378

Toast’s amazing view of Claisebrook Cove

I’m always gazing over at the million dollar apartments across the cove and marvel at how lucky those people are to be living so close to Toast and the other restaurants in the area. Toast is a great place to go, especially when you’re avoiding the mad rush at peak hour. My boyfriend and I went for a weekday lunch this time, where it was about 80% full.

DSC_0323

Blackboard table numbers!

It was a hot day so we decided to sit inside to take advantage of the air-conditioner, but it was still quite warm inside. We grabbed our menus and ordered promptly. They also informed me that there was going to be a 15-20 minute wait for the meals. I had a bit of trouble choosing what to order because I wanted meat in my meal, but I decided to go ahead and try their famous corn fritters. For brunch, I usually have the potato, mint and feta pancakes with smoked salmon, poached eggs, sour cream and chives. That dish is absolutely amazing and everything just goes so well together.

DSC_0329

Mondo’s smoked chorizo with garlic, field mushroom, roast tomato, poached eggs and Turkish toast ($23.50)

My boyfriend decided to get Mondo’s smoked chorizo with garlic, field mushroom, roast tomato, poached eggs and Turkish toast ($23.50). There was actually a lot of chorizo in the dish which was much appreciated and it was quite spicy. The bread however, was hard to cut through, so having a serrated knife would have been better than the butter knife we were given. The tomato to mushroom ratio didn’t seem to balance, with only one medium sized field mushroom to three halves of tomatoes on the plate. However the overall taste was good. A bit of juice from the lemon wedge gave the dish an extra taste of acidity, and the egg was poached perfectly.

DSC_0332

Corn fritters with avocado, poached eggs and hollandaise sauce ($18)

I knew I wanted the corn fritters, but I had to decide whether to get bacon and maple syrup ($16.90) or avocado, poached eggs and hollandaise sauce ($18) with it. In the end, I decided to get something more simple and less heavy and chose the latter. The corn fritters were delicious and I could tell that the corn came straight from the cob – it was super sweet. The avocado was fresh and there was a lot of hollandaise sauce. I would have liked some bacon in this dish but it was $5 extra – WHAT! The whole dish was delicious and surprisingly filling, but I left feeling a little bit sick for the rest of the day, which could have been the amount of hollandaise sauce I had consumed.

IMG_4375

The day’s specials on the blackboard

IMG_4376

All-day breakfast? Check!

The rest of the menu is actually quite extensive but kept simple… so simple that I couldn’t even decide what to get. Everything on the menu sounded so good… sweet and savoury crepes, porridge, croissants, toast and more. I would love to try their crepes, but I think for next time I would get the potato, mint and feta pancakes again. Service is friendly and prices are OK, but tend to be more on the expensive side for what it’s worth. I feel that you’re paying extra for the view of Claisebrook Cove. Despite this, I still believe Toast is one of the best breakfast places in Perth!

Rating: 7 out of 10.
full_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starblank_starblank_starblank_star

Address: Shop 21, 60 Royal Street, East Perth
Website: http://toasteastperth.com/

facebook_logoinstagram_logotwitter_logo

Toast on Urbanspoon

Bites:

  • Toast is open every day from 7am until 7pm, serving an all-day breakfast.
  • Toast is located on the Claisebrook Cove in the East Perth re-development, next door to The Royal.
  • Yes, they have EFTPOS!
  • Toast is also vegan friendly, with many vegetarian options available on their extensive menu.
  • They do not take bookings, but it is recommended that you come at non-peak times to avoid the rush.

- A.

