Studio Bomba is the Bomb!

Studio Bomba, Leederville

On a hot Saturday afternoon, I had an insatiable craving for iced chocolate. And it was 3pm. Which meant it was going to be a bit of a challenge finding a decent place that had iced chocolate and was also open after 3pm. Then I remembered Studio Bomba on Oxford Street in Leederville. I always pass Studio Bomba and had always wondered about it. Studio Bomba turns out to be an all-in-one studio, shop, and cafe.

IMG_4310

The entrance to Studio Bomba, shutting its doors for the day at 5pm 

So off we (my boyfriend and I) went for a quick drive and soon we found ourselves at the cute, quaint and quirky cafe/shop/studio. As soon as you enter the yellow doors, you’ll notice all the goodies that they sell, such as tea accessories, candles, clocks, ukeleles, watering cans, posters, cards, yarn and knitting accessories and books. It’s a great place to meander and perfect to get a quick gift for someone (or for yourself).

IMG_4287

Cute! White walls, colourful things for sale, studio out the back.

IMG_4301

IMG_4309

The menu at Studio Bomba – must come back for the food!

IMG_4307

All the colourful things for sale at Studio Bomba…

IMG_4306

I could stay here for hours…

We were greeted by two lovely staff members behind the counter/kitchen. I immediately darted my eyes to the small selection of sweets in the glass display. I asked what flavours of cakes were on display: gluten-free red velvet cupcakes, butter cake cupcakes with salted caramel curd and meringue and eggnog cupcakes. There were also chocolate and blondie brownies. Salted caramel, you say? SOLD!

IMG_4299

Chocolate and blondie brownies, eggnog cupcakes, salted caramel curd and meringue cupcakes, and red velvet cupcakes.

IMG_4302

Chocolate brownie ($3.50) with a scoop of ice-cream

The waitress had asked me if I wanted the brownie heated up and if I wanted a scoop of vanilla ice-cream, to which I gladly accepted both offers. My chocolate brownie came out piping hot, cooled down slightly with the ice-cream. The chocolate brownie was just like what a chocolate brownie should be like: oozy, hot and so damn chocolate-y. It was enough to send my blood sugars to a high.

IMG_4300

Iced chocolate ($5) with the butter cake, salted caramel curd and meringue cupcake ($5.50)

The waiter had given me an option of milk or dark chocolate, and if I wanted ice-cream in it. Milk chocolate please, and ice-cream OF COURSE! The iced chocolate wasn’t as sweet as I usually like it but it was still what I wanted. It was ice-y cold, great for the 38 degree heat and the ice-cream scoop was huge. Not badly priced, either.

IMG_4303

Butter cake, salted caramel curd and meringue cupcake ($5.50)

IMG_4305

Inside the cupcake reveals the salted caramel curd… drool…

Ohhhhh my godddd. Salted caramel CURD! It was not as sweet as just salted caramel but it was so good in the cupcake, sandwiched between the cake and the meringue. The butter cake was plain and not as sweet the meringue or curd, which was perfect because it would have made the cupcake way too sweet. It also had a slight subtle coffee taste to it. The meringue was fluffy, light, sweet and the added burntness on top gave it a bit of crunch. It was an absolutely delicious cupcake that didn’t make me feel sickly afterwards (as they usually do). However I found it odd that the cupcake costed more than the iced chocolate.

IMG_4304

Late afternoon snack before dinner. No regrets.

IMG_4308

More goods out the back, with a table that holds various classes for the Studio Bomba Summer School.

We continued to browse the rest of the store and noticed a few people working at the studio out the back. They also hold creative classes for all your hipster needs. I loved everything that the store sold, so I couldn’t leave without buying something (for my future house, and a gift). I love creating things, such as scrapbooking, knitting and crafting, so if you love creating things just as much as I do, Studio Bomba would be a perfect place to get all your creative gear.

Studio Bomba are also holding their own version of Summer School, where you can learn how to crochet, cross-stitch, knit, maintain your bicycle, have vintage hair, and make rope baskets. It’s just what you expect in Leederville. Pretty cool! Also, service was friendly as we had a fun chat with the wait staff. The menu looked amazing; I would love to come back for breakfast. I’m so happy Studio Bomba is only a 3 minute drive away from my house!

Rating: 7.5 out of 10 (based on the drink and sweets)
full_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starhalf_starblank_starblank_star

Address: 324 Oxford St Leederville WA 6007
Website: http://studiobomba.com.au

facebook_logo

instagram_logotwitter_logo

Studio Bomba on Urbanspoon

Bites:

  • Open Monday to Fridays 7am – 5pm, Saturdays 9am – 5pm, and Sundays 9am – 3pm.
  • Current classes on offer during Summer School: bicycle maintenance, crochet, cross-stitch, dip-pen letter writing, flower crowns, gocco printing, knitting, leatherwork, macrame, papercrafts, rope baskets, terrariums, vintage hair, and wreaths.
  • Classes run until March 2014. Prices vary between classes, and may include a cupcake (!). You can also buy gift vouchers for the classes! Visit their website for more information and bookings.
  • Unfortunately, Studio Bomba did not appear to have much seating inside.
  • Limited street parking available on Oxford Street and surrounding streets.
- A.

4 thoughts on “Studio Bomba is the Bomb!

    1. Haha you’ll love Studio Bomba as much as I did! It’s such a great place to go and relax and see all the quirky things in there. I love it.

      Thank you so much for the recognition! We’ll try to get onto it as soon as we can!

      A x

Leave a Reply

