Celebrating Thai cuisine, tapas style

Red Opium, East Perth

L and I have visited the delicious Thai restaurant ‘Red Opium’ before. There is currently a voucher in the 2013/14 Entertainment Book for 25% off the total bill, which I gladly used one night.

Since first visiting Red Opium a few months before I went for seconds, I was dreaming of the F-Duck Curry, and all those familiar Thai flavours. Red Opium is located in East Perth but more towards the city. At first, Red Opium is a little difficult to spot, until you realise it is a basement restaurant with dark lighting, red walls, concrete floors, and many interesting Thai influenced furniture. It was almost like entering a whole new world, with the restaurant living up to its name. The seating area is large, and it may feel cold and moody but don’t let that fool you – the food is good. Trust me.

IMG_3404

Red Opium Meatballs: Beef mince, pork mince, curry, kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass ($12.80)

As a person who cannot tolerate spicy food, it was somewhat difficult to choose what I wanted from the menu (as with any Thai restaurant that I have been to). So to start, my boyfriend and I shared the Red Opium Meatballs. It was just what we needed to start with. The meats were cooked through, and had all the Thai flavours. The sauce was sweet but retained that curry flavour.

IMG_3406

Pad Thai: Rice noodles, tofu, eggs, chives, beansprouts, peanuts with tiger prawns ($19.80)

My favourite Thai dish is Pad Thai, so I couldn’t say no to order it. It was just so good, and there was plenty of it to go ’round. The rice noodles were chewy, a squeeze of lime enhancing its tangy flavour, and the beansprouts were fresh and crunchy. I ordered the tiger prawns with the pad thai, and although it is fiddly to eat prawns, the prawns made it so much better. Presentation was also spot on with the tiger prawns. Last time L and I came, the pad thai was presented on a banana leaf.

IMG_3408

F-Duck: Roast duck, red curry, veggies, lychees ($28.80)

Ahhhhh. The dish I had been dreaming about for months. But hang on, where’s the lychee!?! Not sure what happened there (I was honestly really excited to have some lychee), but I tried to not let it disappoint me too much. The roast duck was fatty, juicy, and delicious, and the skin was crispy. The tomatoes and the baby carrots were soft, and the pineapples were sweet. The sauce was the best bit – I kept wanting more!

IMG_3409

Masaman Beef Curry: Slow-cooked beef cheeks, potatoes, masaman curry, peanuts ($24.80)

And our last dish of the night was the Masaman Beef Curry. Slow-cooked beef cheeks? Check! They were damn good. They were big chunks, and were all tender and juicy. You can’t go wrong with beef cheeks. The potatoes were soft but still retained their shape. Definitely one of my favourites.

IMG_3407

Thai cuisine at its best.

We skipped on dessert as we were too full for more, but L and I had ordered dessert when we first came and we had the Thai Tiramisu. Whilst it was indeed delicious, I would personally skip on dessert and focus more on the main meals, due to the unique flavours. Service was professional and friendly, from start to finish. I recommend Red Opium to anyone wanting to try something different.

Rating: 8 out of 10
full_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_starfull_star blank_starblank_star

Address: Unit 21, 326 Hay St  Perth, WA 6000 (enter via Hill Street)
Website: http://redopium.com.au

twitter_logo facebook_logo

Red Opium on Urbanspoon

Bites:

  • Open six days a week for dinner, closed on Mondays.
  • They take reservations, but weekdays should not be too busy. I’d probably recommend booking for weekends.
  • They provide gluten-free and vegetarian options.
  • There is easy street parking around the restaurant.
  • A set menu is only provided for over 8 guests, which isn’t badly priced either.
  • 2013/14 Entertainment Book Offer: 25% off total bill!

- A.

Leave a Reply

